Men's Lacrosse

Brine Coach of the Year: Tim Soudan

BOSTON  (August 14, 2014)– Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league,  announced today that Rochester Rattlers Head Coach Tim Soudan has been named 2014 Brine Coach of the Year. Soudan led the Rattlers to a well-deserved No. 1 seed in the playoffs and a 10-4 record, guiding the team to its first playoff berth since 2008.

“It is humbling to receive this award after the great year we had, especially after the previous couple of years where you start to second-guess yourself,” Soudan said. “I consider this a staff award as I have surrounded myself with very smart guys who were there from the beginning of the season, starting with the draft. At the same time, we were very lucky to have a great group of players who immediately bought into our system and game plan week in and week out.”

Soudan received 11 first place and two second place votes,  beating out three other coaches who had notable seasons: Bear Davis of the Ohio Machine, Joe Spallina of the New York Lizards, and B.J. O’Hara of the Denver Outlaws. Davis, whose team clinched the fourth and final playoff spot, came in second place with two first place votes and ten second place votes. Spallina came in third with two first place votes, one second place vote, and two third place votes. O’Hara came in fourth with two second place votes and six third place votes.

A combination of well-rounded experienced players and powerhouse rookies made this season an exemplary one for the Rattlers. Veterans John Galloway and Kevin Leveille were consistent players who executed all season on the field and led off the field. In fact, Soudan mentioned that he utilized his players’ experience in many ways. For instance, Soudan would call Galloway or Leveille and discuss game plan, player contribution, and seek suggestions or advice.

“I think it’s really important for him to get the recognition,” Galloway said. “It’s very well deserved. After the adversity we faced the past couple of seasons, he brought us together in a way that is truly remarkable.”

Soudan is no stranger to the Rattlers club. In 2011, he became the third head coach in the Rattlers nine-year history. From 2001-2003, he played with the Rochester Rattlers appearing in 31 games and scoring 35 goals (three 2-pt goals). In college, Soudan was a two time All-American at the University of Massachusetts. He was also a two-time gold medal winner with Team USA in the World Lacrosse Championships in 1994 and 1998. 

Coach Soudan and the Rattlers will now take on the Ohio Machine in the first semifinal on on Saturday, Aug. 16, at 3 p.m. in Rochester. Tickets for the game can be found HERE.

The winner of the semifinal will move on to the MLL Championship Game on Saturday, Aug. 23, at 7 p.m. at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, Ga. Tickets start at just $20 and can be obtained HERE.

2014 Brine Coach of the Year Voting Results

The Brine Coach of the Year is determined based on the total number of points each coach receives. Every vote is assigned a point total, with first place receiving five points, second place receiving three points and third place receiving one point.

2014 Brine Coach of the Year Voting


      1st Place Votes

2nd Place Votes

3rd Place Votes


















New York