Men's Lacrosse

Matt Poskay Named Offensive Player of the Year





Boston, Mass. (August 17, 2010) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Tuesday that Boston Cannons’ attack  Matt Poskay has been selected as the 2010 Warrior Offensive Player of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general manager of each of the League’s six teams.

Poskay, a 2006 graduate of the University of Virginia, enjoyed the finest season of his MLL career in 2010.  After moving from midfield to attack at the start of the season Poskay scored a league leading 45 goals in 12 games.   The 45 goals were 20 more than Long Island’s Matt Danowski who finished second in the MLL with 25.  Poskay also led the league with 52 points.

Picked by the Boston Cannons with the 12 th pick in the 2006 collegiate draft, Poskay has scored a team record 140 goals in 51 career games.  His 45 goals this season were a single season team record. 

Poskay scored 4 or more goals in a game 7 times this season including 6 in a win over Long Island on June 26 th.  He was named the Bud Light Game MVP twice during the season and took home MLL Offensive Player of the Week honors following week one when he scored 4 goals in a Cannons’ win over Denver.

Poskay becomes the second member of the Cannons to win the award, following Paul Rabil who was the winner last season.


All-Time MLL Offensive Players of the Year

2001            John Grant Jr., Rochester Rattlers

2002            Mark Millon, Baltimore Bayhawks

2003            Mark Millon, Baltimore Bayhawks

2004            Blake Miller, Philadelphia Barrage

2005            Casey Powell, Rochester Rattlers

2006            Ryan Powell, San Francisco Dragons

2007            John Grant Jr., Rochester Rattlers

2008            John Grant Jr., Rochester Rattlers

2009            Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons

2010            Matt Poskay, Boston Cannons


Poskay earned five first-place votes, and received a total of 36 points.  The runner-up was the Long Island’s Matt Danowski, who also received a total of five first place votes but received a total of 29 points.

Both Poskay and Danowski will be seeking an MLL Championship when they lead their teams at 2010 MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior.  Poskay and the top seeded Boston Cannons will face the #4 seed Chesapeake Bayhawks in the first semifinal on Saturday, August 21 at 12:00 PM ET.  Danowski and the #3 seed Lizards will take on the #2 seed Denver Outlaws in the second semifinal match of day at 3:00 PM ET. 

The 2010 Major League Lacrosse Championship Weekend presented by Warrior takes place at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium, one of the nation’s premier athletic venues. Tailgating is permitted for both Saturday and Sunday beginning at 9:00 AM. A number of great attractions will be featured in the fan zone on both days, including the Warrior Lacrosse Chop Shop, musical performances by MAD PLANET, Bud Light Build-A-Bar, face painting and other activities for fans.

Tickets for the 2010 Championship Weekend presented by Warrior are still available. Complete MLL Championship Weekend packages which include tickets to all three playoff games start at just $30 and may be purchased by calling 866-MLL-TIXX or by visiting Single day tickets will go on sale beginning Sunday, August 15 and will cost $20.

About Warrior

Headquartered in Warren, Michigan, Warrior Sports is recognized as one of the sporting goods industry’s premier manufacturers of innovative, high performance, cutting-edge equipment, footwear and apparel for lacrosse and hockey athletes of all ages and abilities. Founded in 1993 by former champion lacrosse player David Morrow, Warrior was acquired by privately-held New Balance Athletic Shoe, Inc. in February 2004. Warrior is dedicated to a core set of philosophies and strengths: technical superiority, grassroots marketing, original and creative youthful expression, and strong partnerships with retailers and suppliers. Warrior’s Players Club is the best players in the world helping to make the best equipment in the world and is reserved for the top professionals in lacrosse and hockey today. For more information on Warrior please visit

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premiere professional outdoor lacrosse league, commenced play in June of 2001. The MLL is comprised of six teams located in Boston, Chesapeake, Chicago, Denver, Long Island and Toronto. The season will culminate with the MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior, which will take place on Saturday and Sunday, August 21 and 22 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Maryland. 

Major League Lacrosse was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. For more information, please visit the Official League website at