Men's Lacrosse

Denver Outlaws Win MLL Championship

Lightning strikes twice for Denver as they win second MLL Championship in Atlanta; Beat Ohio Machine 19-18 

Atlanta, GA (August 20, 2016)- After a 90-minute weather delay due to lightning in the area, the  Denver Outlaws stormed back from an early deficit to win the 2016 MLL Championship, 19-18 over the  Ohio Machine at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University. Coca-Cola Championship MVP, attackman  Eric Law, scored the game-winning goal with 13 seconds left in the game. Law finished with 5 goals and 3 assists. 

Midfielder  Kyle Harrison kicked off the scoring for the Machine to start the game 1-0. The Outlaws and Machine traded goals before the Machine ended the quarter on a four-goal run to extend their lead 6-2. 

Faceoff specialist  Tom Kelly won the opening faceoff of the second quarter and scored off the fast break to cut the lead to three. The Machine then scored three straight goals from  Peter BaumSteele Stanwick, and  Tom Schreiber to make it 9-3. Thunder and lightning rolled into the area and delayed the game for over an hour and a half during the second quarter. Once the water was cleared from the field, play resumed. The Outlaws went on a 4-0 run to cut the deficit to two, but the Machine ended the quarter with a 5-0 run of their own.  Marcus Holman and  Schreiber scored twice in the run while  Stanwick added another. The Machine led 14-7 at halftime. 

After a shortened halftime, the Outlaws came out firing in the 3rd quarter and outscored the Machine 8-1. Law added three goals and midfielder  Drew Sniderscored twice while  Matt Kavanagh and  Greg Downing each added a goal. The quarter goal differential was the largest in MLL Championship history. 

Denver kept the momentum in the fourth quarter with three quick goals from  Wes Berg, who scored twice, and  Kavanagh. Ohio rallied back, scoring three straight goals of their own behind  HolmanJohn Grant Jr., and  Jake Bernhardt. Grant's second goal of the game set the MLL playoff career goal record at 30 goals, passing  Josh Simsat 29 goals.  

The game was tied until late in the 4th quarter when  Jeremy Sieverts found  Eric Lawfor the game winning goal with 13 seconds left in the game. The Outlaws held on to win, 19-18. 

The game was Denver's sixth MLL Championship appearance in eleven years as a team. The Outlaws also won the MLL Championship in 2014 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University. 

Click HERE for full stats. 

Click HERE for game photos.