Men's Lacrosse

2017 Brine Coach of the Year Nominees Announced

Here are the nominees for the 2017 Brine Coach of the Year: 

Bear Davis, Ohio Machine
For the second time in the last three seasons, Davis guided the Machine to nine wins and they made the postseason for the fourth straight year. His Ohio team allowed a league-best 163 goals this season and ranked third in goals scored at 195. Ohio had the longest winning streak in the league this season, winning five straight from May 27-June 24. 

B.J. O’Hara, Denver Outlaws
O’Hara and the Outlaws finished the season as the top-seeded team heading into the postseason. They won their first four games of the year and won eight of their first 10 games. Only Chesapeake scored more goals this year than the Denver offense (199) and the Outlaws’ defense surrendered the third-fewest goals in the league (174). O’Hara also coached Team Stars in the MLL All-Star Game this year. 

Tom Mariano, Florida Launch
In his first season as head coach, Mariano led the Launch to the postseason for the first time in franchise history and set a team record with eight wins. After starting the year 2-3, Florida went on a three-game winning streak from June 2-17 and won each of its last two regular season games to clinch a playoff spot. The Launch lineup integrated multiple rookies after the team made 12 selections in the 2017 MLL Collegiate Draft.